Home CD Offer Catalogue Ordering Submission



Your publisher is Master of Music at Queen’s Cross Church, Aberdeen -


Our fine Father Willis organ is in need of a new computerised transmission system. The present wiring, dating from 1956, is understandably wearing out and we have to raise £70,000 to replace this, and to also undertake other necessary refurbishments.

So we have now recorded a CD which is being sold in aid of the appeal.

It is entitled ‘Airs and Graces: Music at Queen’s Cross Church Aberdeen’, and features the best soprano in the north east of Scotland, Moira Docherty, and two professional local instrumentalists, Bryan Dargie (violin) and Alison McDonald (cello), with myself at the organ or piano.

Over the years many concerts and recitals have been given in the Church, and we have often explored unusual and wide-ranging repertoire. Thus this disc includes many of these items performed by the local artists involved in their presentation. To provide a more general appeal we have included a section of Scottish folk song arrangements.

Recording, editing and presentation have all been done professionally, and the disc comes in a cellophane-wrapped jewel case with a 12 page insert booklet.

The track-listing is as follows:

Organ solos

1 Kenneth Leighton: Fanfare

2 George Thalben: Ball Elegy

Music for soloists and organ

3 Josef Rheinberger (violin and organ): Praeludium

4 Abendlied

5 Sigfrid Karg-Elert (soprano violin and organ); Völlige Hingabe

6 William Lloyd Webber (violin and organ): Benedictus

7 Michel Estellet-Brun: Stabat Mater (soprano and organ)

Organ solos

8 Francis Jackson: Prelude on a Folk Hymn: ‘ Lonesome Valley’

9 Paul Edwards: Partita on 'Iste Confessor'

Scots folk-song arrangements by Geoffrey Atkinson and James Reith

10 GA: Jamie come try me (violin and organ)

11 JR: O whistle and I’ll come to you (soprano and piano)

12 JR: My love is like a red, red rose (soprano and piano)

13 JR: The de’il’s awa’ wi’ th’exciseman (soprano and piano)

14 GA: Dream Angus (soprano and organ)

15 GA: John Anderson, my Jo (soprano, violin and piano)

16 GA: Ae fond kiss (soprano and piano)

17 GA: Hebridean Elegy: Aignish (soprano, violin, cello and piano)

Total Time: 73’03”

The cost is £10.00 + 1.00 postage (UK and EEC, others at cost), and as usual, if you let me know first, I can bill you through PayPal.



Home CD Offer Catalogue Ordering Submission

Last updated: 04 December 2012