Home Catalogue Ordering Submission

 Thomas Tomkins (1572-1656) – Thomas Weelkes (1576-1623)


List of Compositions

Four Pavans - Volume 1 (B+/C)


Four Pavans - Volume 2 (B+/C) £10.00

Transcribed for organ by Paul Edwards and Geoffrey Atkinson


While these transcriptions, which are derived from original sources, were a collaborative effort, the idea was Paul’s, who noticed that these gravely beautiful works for a consort of viols would actually sound very good on the organ. Each volume includes two works by each composer, all except for no 2 in Volume 1, are for 5 parts. In the 5-part works the bass viol line is set out for the pedal. Performers may decide for themselves whether 16-foot tone may be used – a matter discussed in the prefaces.

While not especially difficult, the textures are often complex, and some preparation would be needed even by expert players. The pieces would serve very well indeed for solemn occasions, and thus we make no apology for including, in volume 2, Tompkin’s famous ‘A sad Pavan for these distracted Times’. 




Home Catalogue Ordering Submission

Last updated: 01 October 2022